ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Stage Volume is Too Loud  (Read 19727 times)

Jacob Robinson

Stage Volume is Too Loud
« on: March 22, 2011, 12:29:29 PM »

This seems to be a battle for many sound techs, but in our smaller church I am really battling Monitor vs. House Sound Levels.

The musicians claim they cannot hear, then once I get it turned up where they can hear, the sound is loud to the congrgation, even without any mains.  Then when I get the mains turned up where they overpower the Monitor sound bouncing off the back wall the overall sound is way too loud.

I am thinking iof buying an inexpensive sound level meter, to be able to tell exactly how loud it is.

I know that our monitors are outdated, but as far as their quality I have no experience to be able to grade them on comparison.

Personal IEM are not really an option, as I know this would be the best solution, but I was wonding if when we get a new Mixer with more than 2 AUX sends, if stage sound level could be brought down, by adding more monitors which are physically closer to the person, and then I could only send exactly what they need to hear and not what everybody needs to hear.

I am open to any solutions, this was just an idea of mine, but I am not sure if this will improve the situation at all.

Mike Spitzer

Re: Stage Volume is Too Loud
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 12:51:35 PM »