ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pink noise source  (Read 3225 times)

Joseph D. Macry

• Austin TX
Pink noise source
« on: March 13, 2014, 01:25:04 PM »

What are y'all using for pink noise source?

As an installer, I often need to feed pink into various types of inputs (XLR mic or line level, 3.5mm stereo, dual RCAs, etc.), and phantom power is not always available.

I had a phone app that provided test signals, but that pink noise sounded compressed, and kept shutting off after a minute. And my phone is only good for 3.5 or RCA inputs.

Joseph Macry,
Austin, TX

Alfredo Prada

Re: Pink noise source
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2014, 02:34:28 PM »

As an installer, I often need to feed pink into various types of inputs (XLR mic or line level, 3.5mm stereo, dual RCAs, etc.), and phantom power is not always available.

I had a phone app that provided test signals, but that pink noise sounded compressed, and kept shutting off after a minute. And my phone is only good for 3.5 or RCA inputs.

I use this:

http://www.nti-audio.com/en/products/minirator-mr-pro-mr2.aspx

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2014, 02:49:10 PM »

I have 10 minutes of pink noise (from Bink's Audio Test CD) saved as a WAV file on my player.  I set it to loop.  I have built up 3.5mm to XLR, and even unbalanced will drive most systems adequately for testing & measurement.
"If you're passing on your way, from Palm Springs to L.A., Give a wave to good ol' Dave, Say hello to progress and goodbye to the Moonlight Motor Inn." - Steve Spurgin, Moonlight Motor Inn

frank kayser

• Maryland suburbs of Washington DC
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2014, 04:24:34 PM »

.  I have built up 3.5mm to XLR, and even unbalanced will drive most systems adequately for testing & measurement.
Just ensure the phantom power is off...

I have something like this...