ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Line Array Wiring  (Read 12713 times)

Brayden Cohen

Line Array Wiring
« on: March 10, 2014, 11:15:52 PM »

I am a novice audio guy and am wondering, for my own insatiable crave for knowledge in live sound, How do companies and guys wire up a line array to the amps especially when they are tri-amping?

(example) 6 JBL vertecs 4889 and 2 JBL Vertec 4880A and how do they choose amps for the rack?

Brian Jojade

• HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Line Array Wiring
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 01:03:57 AM »

With lots of speaker cables.  Amps are decided based on brands preferred, and power ratings of the speakers and the consideration of safety against blowing speakers vs squeezing the max out of the system.
Brian Jojade

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2014, 02:13:55 AM »

I am a novice audio guy and am wondering, for my own insatiable crave for knowledge in live sound, How do companies and guys wire up a line array to the amps especially when they are tri-amping?

(example) 6 JBL vertecs 4889 and 2 JBL Vertec 4880A and how do they choose amps for the rack?

I manage a VerTec shop. /disclaimer

The smart folks buy ITech HDs because that's how you get VerTec V5 presets.  If you're willing to do v4.2 you can use the original ITechs.

I could write up this big, long explanation but I think it's easier to send you to here:  http://hiqnet.harmanpro.com/tutorials/performance_manager/

Performance Manager is a subset of Harman's Audio Architect that has been designed specifically to address physical design, circuiting, amplification, signal routing, testing and operation of VerTec and Venue Precision loudspeaker systems.  While this may seem off on a tangent, your questions will be answered by watching the tutes.