ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: QU16 mix routing help  (Read 1626 times)

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1643
  • Washington, D.C.
QU16 mix routing help
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2014, 05:24:13 pm »

Same disclaimer. Check out your various pre/post-fader settings for your various busses and channels. Easy to make a mistake with these when doing monitors and FOH from the same desk with FX in both.
Logged

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1478
Re: QU16 mix routing help
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2014, 09:35:25 pm »

This is crazy..... so I checked out what Dick had suggested - the itty bitty (and they really are itty bitty) meters on the FX unit screen - and they were not registering.
So, I cancelled the routing that was what I had selected originally which was input>return and switched it to insert (random selection). Then I  switched the input from FX1 to input 3 (totally random choices). Then I re-selected input>return and FX1 again and made sure I hit the  'apply' button.  This was to make sure my selections actually were applied. I then triple checked every setting I could find with existing proven scene settings to make sure they were the same.......
However, no change....no itty bitty metering ....no nuttin'.........Aaaaarggghhhh.

Finally, I have manually copied all the settings I have on that scene to a different scene and the monitor FX work fine. I did it this way so I wouldn't be copying the same problem if I simply used the digital copy function.
I have kept the old scene in case I can get to the bottom of this for learning purposes.

If this is a glitch, I hope it can be fixed with firmware.

If it is operator error, I hope I can be fixed with a double Southern Comfort....
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1478
Re: QU16 mix routing help
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2014, 04:43:00 pm »

As an update.... I have not been able to find where the problem is. Had a 'troubleshooting session' over the phone with Dick Rees who is far more experienced than me with the QU16 and running sound in general and we were unable to pinpoint the problem. All my settings and routings were correct.
I have re-saved a new duplicate scene which seems to be working and I have had no other issues with the board - so the only conclusion we could come to was that it was some squirly digital silliness that occurred when the scene was saved at some point.
I wanted to update this thread incase anyone else has a similar problem......
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1478
Re: QU16 mix routing help
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2015, 09:59:45 pm »

Old thread I know but as an update… I kept that old scene in the memory just to see if down the road I'd ever find an answer to the problem. I figured after all the firmware updates and with having more experience now, I might find the answer.
I spent some time today setting up some FX for the shows at the weekend and while I was messing around, I figured I'd check it out BUT it still has that problem where one particular scene (not bank) does not allow FX through any of the mixes.
I figured I'd update the thread to see if anyone else has had a similar problem or has a solution for me.
If not, gonna delete it from my life.
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."

Debbie Dunkley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1478
Re: QU16 mix routing help
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2015, 10:42:40 pm »

One more thing… the FX kicks in when I change from post to pre on the routing screen.
Logged
A young child says to his mother, "Mom, when I grow up I'm going to be a musician." She replies, "Well honey, you know you can't do both."
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.177 seconds with 23 queries.