ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Clock at 44.1 or 48??  (Read 918 times)

Steve Alves

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 286
  • South Florida
    • South Florida Sound
Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« on: January 29, 2014, 12:01:42 pm »

I am using a o1v96i and just purchased a Tascam SS-CDR200. I have the CDR200 connected to the 2TR Digital on the board in and out. Getting clock errors on the o1v96i using the o1v as the master set at 48. If I use the Tascam as master the system drops to 44.1

Any thoughts or experience with this?
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3337
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 12:06:06 pm »

I am using a o1v96i and just purchased a Tascam SS-CDR200. I have the CDR200 connected to the 2TR Digital on the board in and out. Getting clock errors on the o1v96i using the o1v as the master set at 48. If I use the Tascam as master the system drops to 44.1

Any thoughts or experience with this?

The Tascam is a CD player, it only clocks at 44.1. If it is the master the whole system will be at 44.1. If the console is the master at 48k the Tascam can't sync unless you are using an input the has sample rate conversion.

If you don't have SRC, connecting a CD player digitally means running at 44.1kHz.

Mac
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2398
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 12:21:56 pm »

I am using a o1v96i and just purchased a Tascam SS-CDR200. I have the CDR200 connected to the 2TR Digital on the board in and out. Getting clock errors on the o1v96i using the o1v as the master set at 48. If I use the Tascam as master the system drops to 44.1

Any thoughts or experience with this?
Simplifying Mac's information - unless you have a way to get a wordclock signal back to your Tascam, you're going to have to clock your desk off the CD player.  CDs run at 44.1Khz, therefore your desk will need to as well.

There isn't a significant issue in sound quality between 44.1Khz and 48Khz, but you have created a single point of failure for your desk - if your CD player looses power or gets disconnected, your desk will stop passing audio. 
Logged

Geoff Doane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
  • Halifax, NS
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 12:44:41 pm »

unless you have a way to get a wordclock signal back to your Tascam, you're going to have to clock your desk off the CD player.  CDs run at 44.1Khz, therefore your desk will need to as well.


Simply connecting the digital output of the console (once it's running at 44.1) to the digital input of the CD-R, and putting it in record, will clock the recorder to the console.  As long as you can run the console at its internal 44.1 sampling rate, everything will work fine.

GTD
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2398
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2014, 01:01:09 pm »

Simply connecting the digital output of the console (once it's running at 44.1) to the digital input of the CD-R, and putting it in record, will clock the recorder to the console.  As long as you can run the console at its internal 44.1 sampling rate, everything will work fine.

GTD
Assuming you're intending to record.
Logged

Steve Alves

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 286
  • South Florida
    • South Florida Sound
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2014, 01:09:25 pm »

The recorder has src and it is turned on. But with the o1v at 48 I get sync errors if I PLAY a CD from the Tascam. If I send output to the Tascam to record I do not get the errors. Guessing I should just leave the board at 48 using the internal clock and turn off/ignore the errors when playing a CD back to the board.

Sound right??
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2398
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2014, 01:11:30 pm »

The recorder has src and it is turned on. But with the o1v at 48 I get sync errors if I PLAY a CD from the Tascam. If I send output to the Tascam to record I do not get the errors. Guessing I should just leave the board at 48 using the internal clock and turn off/ignore the errors when playing a CD back to the board.

Sound right??
Sync errors aren't a good thing, particularly if devices are actually running at different clock rates.  Either clock your board to the recorder, assuming you want to play and record from the deck, or use analog inputs on the 01v.
Logged

Geoff Doane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
  • Halifax, NS
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2014, 01:22:55 pm »

Assuming you're intending to record.

Yes, I was making that ASSumption.  :-[

It would be interesting to see if the CDR will stay clocked to the 44.1 digital input, even if it's not in record.  I can do that with my Masterlink, although it seems to be an undocumented feature. If not, then analog back into the console is the way to go, even if they are both nominally running at 44.1.

GTD
Logged

Steve Alves

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 286
  • South Florida
    • South Florida Sound
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2014, 01:47:18 pm »

My understanding is with src turned on I can feed the 48 from the board and it will convert to 44.1... The issues is really playing CD's at 44.1 back to the board that is running at 48. I guess I could send to the Tascam using the optical and return it analog??


On another issue with this setup, I have allot of headroom usually and rarely have the master fader at unity. It seems that any changes to my master fader will change the input levels to the recorder. I am taking the stereo outputs and patching them to the digital output.

Just trying to be able to make basic board recordings. How are others handling this?
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3337
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Clock at 44.1 or 48??
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2014, 01:50:53 pm »

My understanding is with src turned on I can feed the 48 from the board and it will convert to 44.1... The issues is really playing CD's at 44.1 back to the board that is running at 48.

If the console is running at 48k the CD cannot be in sync with it because the console does not have SRC. To play back a CD digitally you either have to clock at 44.1k or have SRC on the digital input you are using.

Mac
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.132 seconds with 24 queries.