ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console  (Read 6343 times)

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4207
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #40 on: January 26, 2014, 04:41:13 pm »

Are you not familiar with the Performer series from Soundcraft?
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........

Now touring nursing homes in a neighborhood near you..

Stuart Miller

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #41 on: January 26, 2014, 05:46:18 pm »

Are you not familiar with the Performer series from Soundcraft?

Bob, if you're referring to me, yes I am familiar with the Performer series. That was one of the ones on my shortlist, the 24-channel model, which is not rack-mounted.

During my research I could not find a 16-channel rack-mountable Performer model. Twenty-four channel was the smallest footprint model I could find and it doesn't fit in a standard rack case.

I notice that Soundcraft has a 16-channel Performer model on their website now but they didn't when I was doing my pre-purchase research. Every vendor I asked told me the Performer model was not available in a rack-mount size.

Stu
Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1528
  • Washington, D.C.
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #42 on: January 26, 2014, 06:34:59 pm »

I believe it was a NAMM announcement.
Logged

Mike Sullivan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #43 on: January 27, 2014, 03:59:19 am »

IMHO, being a person that has used the X32 a couple times, it looks and appears to operate exactly like the X32, give or take a few minor features.  Still too complicated to get to the processing and such quickly.  Only thing I can see is the new layout, and of course as been said numerous times supposedly better quality Midas equipment.  I think personally, it won't matter because they all come from the same factory, guaranteed.

Now, this is my personal opinion, take it with a grain or salt or don't bother saying anything at all.  This was just what I've gathered so far, and I may say different in a year or two, but that's how it looks to me right now, from the "average small town sound guy" point of view.
Logged
Mike Sullivan - Ice Cold Entertainment Ashland, KY

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4207
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #44 on: January 27, 2014, 06:59:55 am »

Bob, if you're referring to me, yes I am familiar with the Performer series. That was one of the ones on my shortlist, the 24-channel model, which is not rack-mounted.

During my research I could not find a 16-channel rack-mountable Performer model. Twenty-four channel was the smallest footprint model I could find and it doesn't fit in a standard rack case.

I notice that Soundcraft has a 16-channel Performer model on their website now but they didn't when I was doing my pre-purchase research. Every vendor I asked told me the Performer model was not available in a rack-mount size.

Stu

Stu,
I was replying to Dave, the post previous to mine. The rack mount Performer was announced at NAMM. I tend to wish I had waited, but I bought an Expression and have no buyers remorse. Both are truly great boards.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........

Now touring nursing homes in a neighborhood near you..

David Sturzenbecher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
  • Sioux Falls, SD
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #45 on: January 27, 2014, 07:23:52 am »


Stu,
I was replying to Dave, the post previous to mine. The rack mount Performer was announced at NAMM. I tend to wish I had waited, but I bought an Expression and have no buyers remorse. Both are truly great boards.

Bob, my post prior to yours also indicated that the Performer 1 was released at NAMM (which would have answered Stuart's quoted wish list if only a released a few years earlier). Yes, I am quite familiar with the line.
Logged

Bill Schnake

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
    • Schnake Sound
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #46 on: January 27, 2014, 09:44:08 am »

I prefer the KISS principle - just give me 200 scenes.  Or give me a choice between methods.

I agree with Tim on this.  Just give me 300 scenes like I have on the Yamaha LS9.  Using the USB stick I can load Act 2 at intermission if need be.  I did that with Fiddler on the Roof this past year and it worked out fine on the X32.

Bill  8)
Logged
Bill Schnake

217.670.1328    Office
217.553.2278    Cell
Schnake Sound, Inc

Experience, Expertise, Professionalism and Reliability

Tim Padrick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 665
  • Indianapolis
    • T.P. Audio
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #47 on: February 03, 2014, 01:54:28 am »

IMHO, being a person that has used the X32 a couple times...... Still too complicated to get to the processing and such quickly..

The assignable controls won't get you where you need to go?
Logged

Jason Lucas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 806
  • Hillsboro, OR, USA
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #48 on: February 03, 2014, 02:12:02 am »

Honestly I find the X32 pretty quick to get around on.
Logged
There are three things I hate: Harsh highs, hollow mids, and woofy bass.

Bob Kidd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
Re: Midas Unveils M32 Digital Mixing Console
« Reply #49 on: February 13, 2014, 10:34:30 pm »

Honestly I find the X32 pretty quick to get around on.

Agree, I have si compact which is very easy to navigate but have used x32 and seems to be user friendly as well. It basically comes down to setting it up to how you mix. Was looking to add x32 and noticed price drop. Not sure if it would be better to wait for m32. I mostly run small to medium shows not sure if m32 would make sense over x32 for what I do.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.122 seconds with 23 queries.