ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Poll

Which way do you send monitor mixes from FOH?

pre fader pre EQ
- 22 (26.8%)
pre fader post EQ
- 40 (48.8%)
post fader post EQ
- 0 (0%)
duplicate channel strip
- 19 (23.2%)
I never do monitors from FOH
- 1 (1.2%)

Total Members Voted: 82

Voting closed: January 27, 2014, 08:32:49 am


Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: FOH monitor mix sends  (Read 3444 times)

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 585
FOH monitor mix sends
« on: January 20, 2014, 08:32:49 am »

I had a discussion with someone on another forum and am curious how others route FOH monitor mixes.
The EQ in question is the channel strip and there is an inline EQ (graph or para) to EQ the overall mix.
The imaginary console will allow you to select any of those configurations.
Logged

Cailen Waddell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 531
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2014, 08:45:31 am »

Not sure I understand the question....  But prefader aux/mix...  Mix has a parametric on it that is typically all we need.  We could potentially insert a graphic before or after if needed, but generally I find if we need the graphic, something else is wrong in out setup....
Logged

Jim McKeveny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 611
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2014, 10:36:41 am »

I learned PRE/PRE (didn't we all?), but now use a dupe strip often as I can. In my experience, some vocalists benefit from the "edge" that a channel-inserted comp shaves.
Logged

Kirby Yarbrough

  • SR Forums
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 313
  • Reston, Virginia
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2014, 10:44:56 am »

some vocalists benefit from the "edge" that a channel-inserted comp shaves.

A very diplomatic term.
Logged

Josh Hana

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 210
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2014, 10:59:28 am »

I duplicate all the inputs for monitors if I can afford it, and then I run them post fade. This way I can assign the lead mic(s) to a VCA then bury the rest of the monitor channels in a bottom layer. If the singer asks for more/less, or if something goes wrong, I can grab the VCA which will always be on my top layer.
Logged

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4480
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2014, 11:54:58 am »

I learned PRE/PRE (didn't we all?), but now use a dupe strip often as I can. In my experience, some vocalists benefit from the "edge" that a channel-inserted comp shaves.

This is the method I have started using recently.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........

Now touring nursing homes in a neighborhood near you..

Jason Lucas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 806
  • Hillsboro, OR, USA
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2014, 12:11:04 pm »

If I had enough channels I'd use dupe strips but for now I do Pre-EQ, Pre-fader.

Unfortunately I can't do Pre-Comp on this board, so I have to decide for myself just how badly I need a compressor on each channel.
Logged
There are three things I hate: Harsh highs, hollow mids, and woofy bass.

Tommy Peel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1361
  • North/East Texas (near Tyler)
    • Facebook Profile
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2014, 12:14:44 pm »

I run post EQ/compression and prefader; only because that's the only way the mixer I have will do it. I also don't have the extra channels to duplicate channels for monitor purposes; it works for us but probably isn't the best solution. :-)
Logged
"An idea is like a virus, resilient, highly contagious. The smallest seed of an idea can grow. It can grow to define or destroy you."
-Inception

Gear List:
Mackie Onyx 1640, JBL MPro 415s, Mackie 808s Mixer Amp, Samson S-Com Dual Comp, Behringer MDX 4600 Quad Comp, TC Electonic m300 Multi-Effects processor, Shure DFR11EQ5,  '09 13 inch MacBook Pro, 1st gen iPad

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4480
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2014, 01:52:55 pm »

My ability to use duplicate channels came about after I moved to the digital world with my purchase of the Soundcraft Expression. The board allows channel duplication on any layer and up to 66 channels to mix.

My experience with APB analog was an eye opener. My experience with Soundcraft digital is like looking directly into the sun.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........

Now touring nursing homes in a neighborhood near you..

Greg Cameron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 558
    • Cameron Pro Audio
Re: FOH monitor mix sends
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2014, 02:59:50 pm »

I didn't vote because I've been doing a combo. Mostly I do monitors from FOH pre fader/EQ/dynamics. But occasionally I'll switch a mix bus to post EQ if it's better for the talent using that mix. And then on other occasions, I'll dupe the channel if it's needed to get the best combo of monitor vs. FOH isolation. The one thing on the Avid Venue that drives me batty is when you have the aux buses set to pre EQ & dynamics, the send is also pre mute. I hate that as when I mute a channel, I want the sends muted too. Apparently this topology is not possible with the way Venue is designed. If you want the sends post mute, you must set the bus to post EQ. Such as life.
Logged
"Procrastinators of the world - contemplate uniting!"

Cameron Pro Audio
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.27 seconds with 26 queries.