ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Conduit Wire Pulling  (Read 21135 times)

Jerome Malsack

Re: Conduit Wire Pulling
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2014, 08:32:35 PM »

With 2, 3 and 4 inch we might start to see a mini battery truck wireless car with led lights and camera?   to pull the string down the pipe. 

This would presume a 40 percent fill? 

Jeff Bankston

« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2014, 09:25:22 PM »

as a commercial electrician i will tell you NEVER pull wire in a conduit with wire in it. i tried a few times when i was a helper. if you have room in the condiut for more wire pull the existing wires out. check the code book or an Uglys pocket reference for condiut fill for the type of wire you are pulling. you might need to use the calculation fill formula. if you dont have room run another pipe. if the existing wires are in great shape you can pull them back in with the new wires at the same time. i'v pulled data wire also and its a pita due to the outer jacket. use soap all the way. pull it easy and make sure the guy feeding it has enough slack so it doesnt drag on the box connector when pulling.

Stephen Swaffer

« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2014, 10:27:56 PM »

I'm by no means an expert conduit installer, but here's what I can contribute:
  • Plastic bushings should be used at every conduit fitting that is attached with a locknut inside the box. I don't know the code requirements on bushings, but even if not required they are not prohibited, and I've scraped the insulation on wires pulling them through unbushed fittings. They are inexpensive and a good idea.
  • One big but often overlooked reason for a maximum fill capacity is heat dissipation. That makes me wonder about the wisdom of installing lots of wires in a large conduit -- might be better to have multiple smaller conduits in some situations.