ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need amp help!  (Read 682 times)

Kevin LeBoeuf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Need amp help!
« on: December 10, 2013, 01:15:16 pm »

Can I run two EAW LA325's per side on a Macro-tech 3600? I guess you'd be running them on 2 ohms a piece, but the amp can handle that, right? I'm new... sorry If I messed anything up!
Logged

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3642
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2013, 01:26:44 pm »

No advice or replys until you change your name to your real name as stated when you sign up to this site.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........

Now touring nursing homes in a neighborhood near you..

Kevin LeBoeuf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2013, 02:08:51 pm »

I think I fixed it!!! Thank you for the heads up!
Logged

Bill Schnake

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 100
    • Schnake Sound
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2013, 04:48:10 pm »

Can I run two EAW LA325's per side on a Macro-tech 3600? I guess you'd be running them on 2 ohms a piece, but the amp can handle that, right? I'm new... sorry If I messed anything up!

You can definitely do it, but you will be way under power on the speakers.  The macro-tech will definitely run at a 2 ohm load.

Bill
Logged
Bill Schnake

217.670.1328    Office
217.553.2278    Cell
Schnake Sound, Inc

Experience, Expertise, Professionalism and Reliability

Kevin LeBoeuf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2013, 05:08:05 pm »

You can definitely do it, but you will be way under power on the speakers.  The macro-tech will definitely run at a 2 ohm load.

Bill

Thanks Bill-
I didn't even think I'd be under powering them... I might be misinformed.  Amp Specs say 1800 watts at 2 ohms per channel, and each cab is 600 RMS at 4 ohms.  How much would I be under powering it by?

Thanks for the help!
Logged

Bob Kidd

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2013, 06:09:43 pm »

Thanks Bill-
I didn't even think I'd be under powering them... I might be misinformed.  Amp Specs say 1800 watts at 2 ohms per channel, and each cab is 600 RMS at 4 ohms.  How much would I be under powering it by?

Thanks for the help!

If I remember correctly the MA runs 1565 @ 4 ohms per channel (stereo) which should be fine for eaw's
Logged

Paul G. OBrien

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 381
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2013, 07:32:26 pm »

Amp Specs say 1800 watts at 2 ohms per channel, and each cab is 600 RMS at 4 ohms.  How much would I be under powering it by?
Not much really. If you can get the SPL you need/want without driving the amp into clipping you're good. The standard recommendation for amp-speaker ratio is to match the Program rating which would be 1200w/box in this case. 900w vs 1200w is only 1.5db on paper and its up at the power compression end of things so in reality you may only see half that gain in the real world.. which wouldn't even be enough of a difference to hear.
Logged

chuck clark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2013, 01:07:29 am »

Can I run two EAW LA325's per side on a Macro-tech 3600? I guess you'd be running them on 2 ohms a piece, but the amp can handle that, right?

Kev, the critical bit of info missing here is: are you using them with or without subwoofers? I think you'll be completely happy with the mac 3600...-unless your running them at very high levels without subs. If your cranking body slamming EDM or other music with big low frequency content thru them and NOT using subs -then the comments here about more power might become valid.
Logged

Robert Piascik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
  • Hilliard, OH
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2013, 08:31:29 am »

I believe I've read on the EAW forum several times the LA325 can't be arrayed, need to be one box per side. They are 90 degree horizontal coverage
Logged
Pi Entertainment Services
Behringer X32, X32R, A&H GL2400, A&H MixWiz16:2
EAW KF-650, SB-750, LA-325, LA-460, LA-215, LA-118
Crown iT8K, XTi6000, XTi4000, XTi2000

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3125
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Need amp help!
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2013, 08:48:54 am »

Can I run two EAW LA325's per side on a Macro-tech 3600? I guess you'd be running them on 2 ohms a piece, but the amp can handle that, right? I'm new... sorry If I messed anything up!
The MA3600 is the only Macro tech I didn't care a lot for.  I owned all the others except the 600 (to small for me)

It was fine for many applications-but if you load it to 2 ohms and ask a lot of bass out of it (like fast double kick drum or dance type material) it would run out of gas very quickly.

So it depends on what type of music you are using it for.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.125 seconds with 23 queries.