ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: Formal education / job hunting for live sound  (Read 8627 times)

Stephen Kirby

Re: Formal education / job hunting for live sound
« Reply #30 on: May 03, 2018, 02:16:18 PM »

There are three disciplines involved that I see:
Music - Know instruments, many musical genres, what performers go though, etc
Electronics - An EE is great, a tech school education will help.  As said, networking and digital protocols are becoming more and more common.  Actually understanding how wireless things work.  And so on.
Business - Whatever endeavor you do, eventually things will come down to business.  Actually I'd start here.  My day job is a manufacturing engineer.  But I find that the more I learn about business the more effective I can be.  Obviously if you're an independent sound provider you really need to understand business.  But even in the trenches of a larger company, if you can understand why things are done and speak the language you will be much more successful.  I'd also put the people skills in this bucket.  Understanding the financials whys and wherefores and working with people to support their ends will go a long way.

Justice C. Bigler

• SR Forums
  • Tulsa, Oklahoma
    • My homepage
« Reply #31 on: May 03, 2018, 05:24:16 PM »

If you want to be a mixer, study music

Oh man...lol...I spent my first four years in college as a music performance major. Spent lots of time in music theory, ear training, playing in all kinds of ensembles, private lessons on four different instruments.

I get to actually mix one, maybe two shows a year, a youth opera in the summer and maybe an orchestra pops show.   :-\ 

Did I mention that one of the best touring musical theatre mixers that I know never went to college or played an instrument at all? (He also owns a Lamborghini...but he's not married and has no kids either)