ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: How to properly set up side fills  (Read 10241 times)

Greg_Cameron

• Cameron Pro Audio
Re: How to properly set up side fills
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2013, 12:26:17 PM »

When more than 1 speaker is operating in a space there are always going to be cancellations but those nulls are very position and frequency dependent. If you try this yourself you will find it's not nearly as cut and dried as you think.

Agreed. Flipping polarity will merely change the comb filter pattern for non adjacent sources.
"Procrastinators of the world - contemplate uniting!"

Cameron Pro Audio

Jesse gray

« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2013, 09:20:29 PM »

I have a another question while we are talking about polarity. Should I switch the polarity of the tops to the opposite of the subs? I have never done that before but I have heard it talked about before. I am ground stacking 2 QSC HPR 152i's over two mackie fussion 1800 subs and a JBL MPro 418 sub on each side.

So A. can you reverse the polarity of the tops to the reverse of the subs when ground stacking? and B. is it a stupid idea to add the JBL sub to each side when they are not the same as the Mackies?

(my boss wants me to do this. He is not a sound guy. He thinks more speakers = more output. To my understanding though, won't different model speakers with different drivers interfere with each other and cancel the sub frequencies out?)

Paul G. OBrien

« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2013, 10:01:26 PM »

I am ground stacking 2 QSC HPR 152i's over two mackie fussion 1800 subs and a JBL MPro 418 sub on each side.

So A. can you reverse the polarity of the tops to the reverse of the subs when ground stacking?
You can do anything you want.. but I'm not sure it'll do anything positive.

and B. is it a stupid idea to add the JBL sub to each side