ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Behringer X32  (Read 19469 times)

Doug Fowler

  • Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1647
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Behringer X32
« on: August 12, 2013, 03:49:02 pm »

X32 connectivity solutions here.
Logged
"It's got electrolytes.  It's got what plants crave."

James A. Griffin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 818
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 10:54:55 am »

X32 > 225 ft Belden Data Tuff w/ ethercon > S16 # 1 > 50 ft Belden Data Tuff w/ ethercon > S16 # 2

http://www.markertek.com/Cables/Computer-Data-Cables/CAT-5-Cables/TecNec/CAT5XTRM-10.xhtml?utm_medium=shoppingengine&utm_source=googlebase&cvsfa=3786&cvsfe=2&cvsfhu=434154355854524d2d3230&gclid=CNzHusLwnbkCFUhk7AodX0AAOQ

While I was waiting for the DataTuff cable to be shipped, I bought a 100' spool of Cat5 off the shelf at Home Depot.    I had no issue with it and have had none with the Belden.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2013, 11:02:50 am by James A. Griffin »
Logged
I need to determine where in this swamp of unbalanced formulas squatteth the Toad of Truth

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17668
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2013, 02:26:09 pm »

X32 > 225 ft Belden Data Tuff w/ ethercon > S16 # 1 > 50 ft Belden Data Tuff w/ ethercon > S16 # 2

http://www.markertek.com/Cables/Computer-Data-Cables/CAT-5-Cables/TecNec/CAT5XTRM-10.xhtml

While I was waiting for the DataTuff cable to be shipped, I bought a 100' spool of Cat5 off the shelf at Home Depot.    I had no issue with it and have had none with the Belden.

I have a 100' piece of generic CAT5e UTP on our cross-stage drive loom and used it to connect an X32 to S16.  Coiled up, with the ends freed enough to do the patch, we encountered no problems in shop tests.  I need to see if there is 250' - 300' left in a box and try it out.

The Markertec product looks interesting.  Behringer says "shielded" but so far having no luck with "stock" assemblies of STP/Ethercon.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

John Moore

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 223
  • "learning the hard way sucks donkey kong"
    • Trinity Productions
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2013, 10:54:44 am »

http://www.ebay.com/itm/130892764848

Works well , rugged... keep away from DMX cables paralleling the CAT5 cable...
Logged
http://www.trinityprosound.com 209-832-8023
DEALER:Dealer for Yorkville, EV, QSC, RCF, Danley Sound Labs, VTC, Allen & Heath, Ashly, Denon,  Audix, One Systems, Beyerdynamic, Presonus, K&M, Ultimate,  Trusst, Road Ready, Gator, Radial Engineering, Turbosound, dB Technologies, RCF, American Audio,  Rapco, CBI Cables, ADJ, Chauvet, Blizzard, Furman, Shure, Tascam, Elite Screens,  BenQ, Midas, Digico,  and many many more...

Michael Storey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • San Jose, CA
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2013, 07:22:25 pm »

http://www.ebay.com/itm/130892764848

Works well , rugged... keep away from DMX cables paralleling the CAT5 cable...

How much of an issue is this in your experience? I assume the same goes for paralleling AES/EBU audio with CAT5?
Logged

John Moore

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 223
  • "learning the hard way sucks donkey kong"
    • Trinity Productions
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2013, 10:48:19 am »

The digital signal of the DMX line, and they were using std. mic cables for DMX was noticeable during load in and setup. It did seem to go away once the show started , but that may have been attributed to us not noticing due to volume, however even during the performer change outs, it was not there...really strange but next time we will separate DMX by some distance from the CAT5/6 cables. A Shielded CAT5/6 most likely/probably/would reject the interference for sure.
Logged
http://www.trinityprosound.com 209-832-8023
DEALER:Dealer for Yorkville, EV, QSC, RCF, Danley Sound Labs, VTC, Allen & Heath, Ashly, Denon,  Audix, One Systems, Beyerdynamic, Presonus, K&M, Ultimate,  Trusst, Road Ready, Gator, Radial Engineering, Turbosound, dB Technologies, RCF, American Audio,  Rapco, CBI Cables, ADJ, Chauvet, Blizzard, Furman, Shure, Tascam, Elite Screens,  BenQ, Midas, Digico,  and many many more...

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17668
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2013, 11:38:12 am »

The digital signal of the DMX line, and they were using std. mic cables for DMX was noticeable during load in and setup. It did seem to go away once the show started , but that may have been attributed to us not noticing due to volume, however even during the performer change outs, it was not there...really strange but next time we will separate DMX by some distance from the CAT5/6 cables. A Shielded CAT5/6 most likely/probably/would reject the interference for sure.

While this may not be the right forum for discussion, I must say, John, that the DMX being next to or on top of AES50 cabling will NOT do what you're claiming.

Why?  Because the signals are digital, if there was any corruption of the AES data you would lose word clock sync.  Shit would stop working.

The demodulated DMX noise was getting in somewhere, but it wasn't in the AES50 run...
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Jared Koopman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2013, 03:55:16 pm »

We used Belden 1583A for our install. FOH run is around 100 feet to the first S16, and another 50 feet or so to the second S16 on the opposite side of the stage.

Has worked rock solid so far, no crackles, pops, or loss of signal outside of user error. I know its not a touring solution, but for install it has worked.

http://www.belden.com/techdatas/english/1583A.pdf
Logged

Tim Padrick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 897
  • Indianapolis
    • T.P. Audio
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2013, 05:21:35 am »

Using the multi version of Gepco CT504HDX with Midas with no troubles.
Logged

Jonathan Kok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
  • Toronto
Re: Behringer X32
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2013, 02:14:22 pm »

Two S16's, Two X32's, one P16D, eight P16M.

S16-->S16-->X32 FOH-->X32 Record, using generic Cat5e UTP (install, through conduit). Roughly 100-150' runs. Also, X32 FOH-->P16D-->8X P16M, also generic C5eUTP. Add patch cables at FOH and the P16's (connected via Neutrik NE8FDP's).

No problems. Though figuring out how to get returns from Record to FOH took a bit of thinking.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.123 seconds with 19 queries.