ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Transporting your measurement Rig  (Read 3556 times)

peter dakin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Transporting your measurement Rig
« on: February 21, 2013, 07:33:23 am »

For the past few years, I've survived by having all my measurement kit in my gig bag.
I've a nice little peli case for my mic, but the soundcard just gets a brutal life.

I've recently added a PC tablet to my kit and my back and gig back are straining at the seems.
Ideally I'd want a case that is 'plug-and-play' rather than secure transport, but at this moment, just a peli case and pick foam is appealing.
Final thing is it needs to be Airline/baggage handler proof!

I was interested to see how everyone is transporting their systems?

Logged

Timo Beckman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
  • Measuring is fine but never forget using your ears
    • Timo Beckman Geluid
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 11:28:55 am »

like this in my case
   
   
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 07:59:17 am by Timo Beckman »
Logged

peter dakin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2013, 11:56:22 am »

like this in my case

exactly that! yes please!

I was looking at THESE but they're not quite what I'm after. Its got the Laptop, Flying boxes ticked, however its a little bulky and doesn't fit all airline specifications.
Logged

Timo Beckman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
  • Measuring is fine but never forget using your ears
    • Timo Beckman Geluid
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2013, 12:39:00 pm »

exactly that! yes please!

I was looking at THESE but they're not quite what I'm after. Its got the Laptop, Flying boxes ticked, however its a little bulky and doesn't fit all airline specifications.

The cases were custom build . The advantage i have by doing it this way is that i can start measuring within about 5 min after i open it up . Just connect the powercon a few XLR's and go if the rest of the stuff is up and running (most of the time it's not so....might take a bit longer to get all long cable runs in or the mixing desk up and running).
I've just ordered a new rack for the KVM consolle and SIM3/processing stuff i have . As soon as it's ready and up and running i'll post a picture of it . That's not a small 1 (16 units high)
« Last Edit: February 21, 2013, 12:40:42 pm by Timo Beckman »
Logged

Arthur Skudra

  • SR Forums
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2013, 01:34:46 pm »

For the past few years, I've survived by having all my measurement kit in my gig bag.
I've a nice little peli case for my mic, but the soundcard just gets a brutal life.

I've recently added a PC tablet to my kit and my back and gig back are straining at the seems.
Ideally I'd want a case that is 'plug-and-play' rather than secure transport, but at this moment, just a peli case and pick foam is appealing.
Final thing is it needs to be Airline/baggage handler proof!

I was interested to see how everyone is transporting their systems?
When I fly with my measurement rig, I usually use a combination of cases to keep under the 50 lb limit for checked baggage and 22 lb limit for carryons (and yes, they do weigh them here).  For a hard case I use a Pelican Storm iM2500, for a soft case I use a Travelpro 22" rollaboard, and for cables I have a medium duffel bag.  For a carryon I have a large Crumpler bag briefcase.  Usually the valuable stuff comes on board with me in my briefcase (mics, computer, ipad, etc).  I find using my Travelpro gets the least amount of attention from airport staff, however everytime I check my Storm case, they want to know if there's anything fragile inside, and usually make a fuss if I have anything expensive inside.  Also 3 out of 4 times I'm waiting at baggage claim for the Storm case, and discover it has been put out in the fragile items baggage drop!
Logged

Pascal.Pincosy

  • SR Forums
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2013, 07:51:48 am »

I was interested to see how everyone is transporting their systems?

I use a Pelican 1080 Hardback case for my Praxis measurement system. Haven't found the right case for the Studio Six Digital system yet, and my SMAART system hasn't really been used in quite a while. Between the ease of use of the AudioTools setup and the power of Praxis, the SMAART setup ends up being superfluous.
Logged

Timo Beckman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
  • Measuring is fine but never forget using your ears
    • Timo Beckman Geluid
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2013, 06:57:13 am »

The cases were custom build . The advantage i have by doing it this way is that i can start measuring within about 5 min after i open it up . Just connect the powercon a few XLR's and go if the rest of the stuff is up and running (most of the time it's not so....might take a bit longer to get all long cable runs in or the mixing desk up and running).
I've just ordered a new rack for the KVM consolle and SIM3/processing stuff i have . As soon as it's ready and up and running i'll post a picture of it . That's not a small 1 (16 units high)

So this will be my main measurement rack .
http://timobeckmangeluid.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/new-measurement-rack/
The equipment in there might change the coming weeks .

   

This is the non travel light version of my small measurement set-up
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 07:58:18 am by Timo Beckman »
Logged

peter dakin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2013, 06:32:37 pm »

So this will be my main measurement rack .
http://timobeckmangeluid.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/new-measurement-rack/
The equipment in there might change the coming weeks .
This is the non travel light version of my small measurement set-up
Nice!
I especially like the slide-away PC. Is that just controlling other PC hidden away or is it something a little more substantial?
Logged

Timo Beckman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
  • Measuring is fine but never forget using your ears
    • Timo Beckman Geluid
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2013, 06:45:08 pm »

Nice!
I especially like the slide-away PC. Is that just controlling other PC hidden away or is it something a little more substantial?

It's a Aten KVM consolle so basicly a screen keyboard and a mouse able to controll 8 computers from 1 location . In my case it will be 1 or 2 macs 1 windows dingaling and SIM3 . It also has a VGA output witch allows me to hook up a screen or beamer for short seminars i give here in the netherlands
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 530
  • Sioux Falls, SD
Re: Transporting your measurement Rig
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2013, 11:02:23 pm »

Timo,
Are you using the soundwebs for system drives? or other functions? Does anyone is rider land ever question them?
Logged
CTS-I
AES Full Memeber
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.154 seconds with 22 queries.