ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6   Go Down

Author Topic: When you need a Dugan....  (Read 4897 times)

Derrick McDonald

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
When you need a Dugan....
« on: February 14, 2013, 07:31:47 pm »

But don't have one. >:(

What are your alternatives in the digital realm?  Obviously ducking, but what if you have more than two channels?

I end up riding each fader as best I can, eyes nervously twitching, desperately scanning the stage trying to anticipate who will talk next.  Clearly not the best choice.

How are y'all working without a Dugan on Yamaha/Digico/Avid etc. and what works best for you?
Logged

Jason Phair

  • Marketplace
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
Logged

Rick Earl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 138
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 07:39:02 pm »


How are y'all working without a Dugan on Yamaha/Digico/Avid etc. and what works best for you?

I tried without much luck,  I had a Shure system from the Board of trustees that I used a couple of times, not the best for my application and was only good for table top, I could not make it work with my wireless.   I  was lucky enough to meet and talk with Dan Dugan over the summer and ended up buying a MY-Dugan for  my Yamaha consoles.  Best investment I've made in a long time.   Bottom line - IT WORKS.
Logged

Derrick McDonald

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 07:47:03 pm »

http://www.yamahacommercialaudiosystems.com/product_detail.php?prodID=1128

Well... yes.  But, I was including that under the "don't have one" umbrella.  Looking for solutions when you don't have access to the Dugan, period.
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3522
  • Audio Plumber
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2013, 12:45:59 am »

Logged

kristianjohnsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 998
  • Lillehammer, Norway
    • Lillehammer Lyd og Lys
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2013, 03:29:54 am »

You rent one.

Mac

Or beg and plead Sends-on-faders-Andrew to finish writing his gain-sharing MIDI Studio Manager software for Yamaha mixers. :-/
Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13152
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2013, 09:11:55 am »

It seems like a pretty obvious feature to build into digital consoles, but what would I know.

JR

 
Logged
Tune it or don't play it... please

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 544
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2013, 12:55:08 pm »

I have had some modest results by activating a gate with 6-8 db of "range"  a fast attack and 2 second hold and .5 second release.
It's tough to get the threshold set right but does help a little with multiple mic panel discussions.
Logged

Kevin Maxwell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 255
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2013, 02:07:50 pm »

But don't have one. >:(

What are your alternatives in the digital realm?  Obviously ducking, but what if you have more than two channels?

I end up riding each fader as best I can, eyes nervously twitching, desperately scanning the stage trying to anticipate who will talk next.  Clearly not the best choice.

How are y'all working without a Dugan on Yamaha/Digico/Avid etc. and what works best for you?

I use the Shure SCM810 with excellent results. I would prefer to use the Dugan but the SCM810 does one thing the Dugan doesn’t. It has a comparator circuit in it and rather then just gain sharing between 2 close mics it will only turn one on for a sound source.

Do a search on my name and SCM810 and you will find a lot of information on here. And if you still have questions let me know.
Logged

TomBoisseau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
Re: When you need a Dugan....
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2013, 03:57:22 pm »

Or beg and plead Sends-on-faders-Andrew to finish writing his gain-sharing MIDI Studio Manager software for Yamaha mixers. :-/


Oh I really wish he would!

Andrew's "automoxer" program for the LS9 actually works pretty well, HOWEVER there are a few bugs and the program occationally crashes.  The good news is, once set up and running, I've never had the program crash PROVIDED I did not make any parameter changes within the program during an event.  So, the key is, set it up the program how you want it, and don't touch a thing during the show!  You can do whatever you want on the LS9, but leave the computer alone.

Tom
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.115 seconds with 23 queries.