ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c  (Read 5580 times)

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« on: November 12, 2012, 08:31:28 pm »

Ok, I understand the major difference in these is the internal pre's vs stage box.  What are the other differences here?  What would be the biggest reason for getting a pro 2c instead of a pro 1 and stage box?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 08:33:14 pm by Teddy Murphy »
Logged

Caleb Dick

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 265
    • Excel AV Group
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2012, 08:37:47 pm »

MCA's, dedicated aux knobs, no layers on right faders, more dedicated faders.  Cost difference from Pro1 with DL251 to Pro2c is around what, $3k?  Pro1 only really makes sense if there is analog snake.

Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Excel AV Group

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2012, 08:41:03 pm »

MCA's, dedicated aux knobs, no layers on right faders, more dedicated faders.  Cost difference from Pro1 with DL251 to Pro2c is around what, $3k?  Pro1 only really makes sense if there is analog snake.

I can get a really good deal on a pro 1 and add the stage box at a later time. And I can't think of when I would really use MCA's unless I was mixing monitors with the console.  Do you think anyone touring would refuse this console based on those differences for a FOH console if I had the stage box?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 08:47:43 pm by Teddy Murphy »
Logged

Thomas Lamb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 410
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2012, 09:50:31 pm »

I never used mca's until I did a show with a pro2c the other day and I think it's one of those things you don't miss because you've never had them. However, they are a really cool feature and can come in quite handy. Do you normally run monitors from FOH? If so the dedicated nobs for the monitors are a big deal IMHO. as far as people refusing it that all depends on your clientele. I think you have a level where pro 1or 2 are acceptable but most of those clients are also willing to accept a sc48, m7 or maybe even a Ls9 mostly due to comfort level. I don't know that The difference between a pro 1 or 2 will matter in that market.

I did play with the pro 2 this week and liked it a lot after about an hour. I spend a lot of time on AVID and Yamaha products and my biggest complaint in comparison is I think that the patchbay is a giant turd! Once I spend more time with it I'm sure ill get used to it but I don't thing there is a easier patch bay than the one in the D SHOW's.
Logged
bigTlamb

"If you suck on a functional analog desk, you'll really suck on a complex digital desk...." Dick Rees

Brian Wynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2012, 10:50:47 pm »

I never used mca's until I did a show with a pro2c the other day and I think it's one of those things you don't miss because you've never had them. However, they are a really cool feature and can come in quite handy. Do you normally run monitors from FOH? If so the dedicated nobs for the monitors are a big deal IMHO. as far as people refusing it that all depends on your clientele. I think you have a level where pro 1or 2 are acceptable but most of those clients are also willing to accept a sc48, m7 or maybe even a Ls9 mostly due to comfort level. I don't know that The difference between a pro 1 or 2 will matter in that market.

I did play with the pro 2 this week and liked it a lot after about an hour. I spend a lot of time on AVID and Yamaha products and my biggest complaint in comparison is I think that the patchbay is a giant turd! Once I spend more time with it I'm sure ill get used to it but I don't thing there is a easier patch bay than the one in the D SHOW's.
The Aux knobs are huge on the Pro2.  The area B is a good thing to have too.  The MCA function is useless in my opinion because I have never had anyone ask for more of all the drums or more of all the guitars.  It just doesn't happen.
If you have a analog snake then the Pro1 would make sense. 
I sold my Pro1 so that I could move to the Pro2c then I fell in to the X32 and never bought a Pro2c.  I just have a problem going to a CAT5 snake. And the X32 does a whole lot more than any of the Pro series desk's including the Pro3 - 6 - or 9.  BUT it doesn't sound as good as the Pro series it does sound better than the LS9 by far!
Logged

Peter Morris

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 511
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2012, 12:33:45 am »

....  And the X32 does a whole lot more than any of the Pro series desk's including the Pro3 - 6 - or 9.  ......

 :o  :-X
Logged

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2012, 09:14:57 am »

I do have several analog snakes in my inventory.  The reason behind this I that I am making the plunge into digital for my use and rental.  I rented digital this year enough that I feel I need to purchase.  I am also in a part of WV that has 2 other production company's that rent A LOT and are traveling 2 hours just to get one.  So, for my use, I want a Midas,  but the M7 is the most common rented in the area.  My budget allows me an M7 and a pro1 so I have two digital consoles in my inventory.  I found a really really great deal on an m7 demo  with full warranty for substantially less than a new M7 or SC48.
Logged

Thomas Lamb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 410
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2012, 11:13:54 am »

While the m7 is not my favorite desk it is fairly widely accepted. If your getting a good deal great. My last advice would be to look at your workload over the last year and see if this combination would have fit the bill most of the time. Like I said if YOU. Are the operator it doesn't matter what it is but if you are needing to meet even regional riders a LS9 might even be a better choice from a business perspective.
Logged
bigTlamb

"If you suck on a functional analog desk, you'll really suck on a complex digital desk...." Dick Rees

Brian Wynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2012, 02:04:24 pm »

:o  :-X

More Local I/O
Multitrack recording out of the box
USB recording
USB playback
Use of both parametric eq and graphic on your outputs
1/4" aux inputs
1/4" aux outputs
Single cat5 snake
Cost
Multiple ways to get to your aux sends

I'm not a Behringer fan but its hard to beat this desk for the money.
Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1535
  • Washington, D.C.
Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2012, 02:45:59 pm »

Midas Pro doesn't have parametric on outputs? Really?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.092 seconds with 23 queries.