ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]   Go Down

Author Topic: Danley SM80- first impressions  (Read 38555 times)

John Roberts {JR}

• Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: Danley SM80- first impressions
« Reply #40 on: March 04, 2013, 11:56:40 AM »

While I'm not a lawyer, I have observed that it apparently is possible to insist on a final sales price.  My beloved Festool power tools are this way, my Canon cameras and lenses are this way, and I suspect other things.  I've heard from dealers of these brands that if they sell for less than the designated price, they will almost certainly lose their dealership agreement.

Sounds like a good argument to convince customers to pay full MAP.

I see some brands (typically not audio) that seem pretty effective at managing their street price. The race to the bottom (for price and therefore profit) is one thing that discourages me from using distribution, I don't have the muscle or attention span to keep all the puppies in the pen. Dealers can be pretty self destructive about margins, while eroding the street price of some random SKU does not typically threaten their entire business and can buy them customers in the short term.

JR

Cancel the "cancel culture". Do not participate in mob hatred.

Randall Hyde

« Reply #41 on: March 04, 2013, 12:31:35 PM »

While I'm not a lawyer, I have observed that it apparently is possible to insist on a final sales price.  My beloved Festool power tools are this way, my Canon cameras and lenses are this way, and I suspect other things.  I've heard from dealers of these brands that if they sell for less than the designated price, they will almost certainly lose their dealership agreement.