ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Audio School placement stats?  (Read 8922 times)

Jordan Wolf

Re: Audio School placement stats?
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2012, 09:49:44 PM »

I went to a 4 year university audio program and graduated right when the bottom fell out of the economy. I was fortunate enough to land a job with a production company doing corporate audio work within 10 days of graduating.  Most of my friends are not so lucky but I would blame that in lack of networking skills.  I worked my butt off while taking classes to go meet other engineers and start getting in "call lists" for certain venues.  I think it's all about what you make if your time in audio school... The jobs are obtained the same way whether you have a degree or not.
To Patrick,

I have a similar story to yours.  I didn't specifically go to college for audio, I graduated with a B.A. in Broadcasting at the same time the economy tanked.  While at college, I worked in the PAC doing FOH, MONs, Radio mixdowns, lighting, set construction, and stagehand stuff.  I also got involved in the campus news program and radio station.  Then there was all the on-location audio, audio post-production, and Foley/ADR work for video I got into...  I didn't always get the best grades, but I learned a lot and applied the lessons learned from my mistakes and I think it was worked out pretty well.

After graduating and coming back to NJ, I worked part-time at Home Depot and part-time at a small, local "production company" (after finding out they had no insurance, I decided to move on…) just to keep my hands on some gear, and maybe get some time behind the board at gigs.

I'm at my current job (corporate AV with PSAV Presentation Services) because I kept on submitting applications and hammering that nail until it hit something.  A few days after I interviewed, I was hired.