ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Crest or Crown for SRX728's  (Read 4669 times)

Winston Room

  • SR Forums
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« on: December 07, 2011, 12:39:09 am »

Situation: $2000 to power a pair of SRX728s.

Obviously I's prefer to go with something more substantial like a Macrotech - but this is all I was given to work with. I am aware two XTi4002's aren't going to drive the 728's to their full potential.

Question: Two Crest CC4000's or two Crown XTi4002's? DSP is not needed (system uses driverack PX). Weight is not a factor. Does anyone have first hand experience with the CC series?
Am I missing a better potential option?

Thanks in advance.
Logged

Ray Aberle

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 937
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2011, 12:51:33 am »

Situation: $2000 to power a pair of SRX728s.

Obviously I's prefer to go with something more substantial like a Macrotech - but this is all I was given to work with. I am aware two XTi4002's aren't going to drive the 728's to their full potential.

Question: Two Crest CC4000's or two Crown XTi4002's? DSP is not needed (system uses driverack PX). Weight is not a factor. Does anyone have first hand experience with the CC series?
Am I missing a better potential option?

Thanks in advance.

Kurt, for $2,000, you can get yourself into a used I-Tech amp pretty easily-- an IT-6000 would give you 3,000 watts per channel-- not a bad amount to work with at all. (Can be better, but oh well.) You may even find an IT-8000, which would give you 4,000 watts per channel. I picked up two of those back in June for $3500 total.

Ray
Logged
Kelcema Audio
Regional - Serving Pacific Northwest (OR, WA, ID, BC)

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 13065
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2011, 01:34:40 am »

Situation: $2000 to power a pair of SRX728s.

Obviously I's prefer to go with something more substantial like a Macrotech - but this is all I was given to work with. I am aware two XTi4002's aren't going to drive the 728's to their full potential.

Question: Two Crest CC4000's or two Crown XTi4002's? DSP is not needed (system uses driverack PX). Weight is not a factor. Does anyone have first hand experience with the CC series?
Am I missing a better potential option?

Thanks in advance.

What Ray said.
Logged
Chewing through your wimpy dreams
They eat without a sound,
Digesting England by the pound.

Winston Room

  • SR Forums
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2011, 03:56:35 am »

Kurt, for $2,000, you can get yourself into a used I-Tech amp pretty easily-- an IT-6000 would give you 3,000 watts per channel-- not a bad amount to work with at all. (Can be better, but oh well.) You may even find an IT-8000, which would give you 4,000 watts per channel. I picked up two of those back in June for $3500 total.

Ray

That is a good suggestion. Thank you.

I will have to check and see if buying used is feasible. These are for an educational institution and they may not be interested in purchasing used on their credit cards.

If it boils down to it - and I cannot buy used - any comments on the Crest CC series on these 728's?

I continually hear mediocre things about the XTi series (although I've had good experiences with them in the past), especially on sub duty, and especially bridged. The unknown is if the Crest will be any better.
Logged

Yosi Melamed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 228
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2011, 04:51:35 am »

If weight is not a problem and you absolutely need a new amp then what do you guys think about RMX5050?
You can find it new on google product finder for $1550 and up.

From what I read here the XTI 4002 gets bad sounding results from every one connecting it to the 728 although I heard a few sales people recommend this combo, don't know why.
I own one 4002 and use it happily on 4 tops.

A pair of 6002 are supposed to do the job (Kevin from the crown forum recommends it) but I don't have first hand experience with it.

You can find allot of used gear that will fit your power needs and budget, such as QSC PL9.0 or a couple of Crest 8002 that would easily do the job, but your best bet is to get a used i-Tech like ray and tim said
« Last Edit: December 07, 2011, 09:01:18 am by Yosi Melamed »
Logged
Don't bring up facts that can ruin our good argument.

Crown i-Tech 8000
Allen & Heath ZED60-14FX
4 X Cerwin Vega ProStax PS-12 II
1 X Cerwin Vega Sub 15
1 X Rolls RS-80 Tuner
1 X MaxxBass 101
1 X Weekend warrior

John Hoekstra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2011, 06:07:03 am »

I run 5 Crest CC amps (tri-amped) in my indoor system amp rack. CC1800 drives top horn @4 ohms stereo, then 2 CC2800's to drive the mid range (4 ohms bridged) and 2 CC2800's to drive the low end (4 ohms bridged). (System consists of 2 JBL715 cabs per side and 2 JBL SRX718 cabs per side) This puts 2800 watts per side into the mid range to drive 2 JBL SRX715 speakers and 2800 watts per side to drive 2 JBL SRX718 subs. Signal is processed through a DBX260 cross over-speaker management system, and limiters are set properly. (Limiters properly set is important)
This has worked out well for me in small to medium sized venues. (Small venues we only hook up 1 high/mid cab and 1 sub cab per side.) This gives me plenty of SPL to cover about 200 - 300 peeps.
The CC amps have been bullet proof. I've never had a problem. Crest is now owned by Peavey.
My experience with the CC Crests has been very positive.
   
Logged
Anything is easy when you know how

Jonathan Betts

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 260
    • http://www.facebook.com/pages/JLB-Sound-and-Production/156817657745906
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2011, 08:43:31 am »

It's hard to beat a used ITech for under $2000. If you stay on top of it you can get them for under $1500. I have a 6000 that I run on 718's which is plenty of amp for sub duty. I have run a 4000 on my 718's and that performed well also. I like the fact that you can monitor a system with a cheap laptop, network switch and powerful program like SA.
Logged

duane massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 999
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2011, 10:29:13 am »

I've had great results with Peavey CS 4080HZ; been using 3 for sub duty in my house gig, and never a hiccup. Also great luck with RMX5050, not so much with Xti6000.

I am assuming you are buying one amp?
Logged
Duane Massey
Technician, musician, stubborn old guy
Houston, Texas

Othmane Alaoui

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 140
    • Produkson - Sound & Lights
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2011, 12:46:33 pm »

You can also look at some QSC PL's on ebay or gearsource !

2 x PL4.0 will be kick ass and they are usually sold around a 1000$ each. I think it would be a bit to much for your subs but perfect in your price level.

There is also sometimes the PLX3602 seen for sale at about 7-800$ the amps ...

Othmane
Logged

Steven warner

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
Re: Crest or Crown for SRX728's
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2011, 01:10:01 pm »

What are you using now? The itech 6 or 8k does sound nice on these BUT the handful of times ive used them it seems something weird always happens so personally im not sure I would trust them as my only sub amp unless you have a backup or at least something to get you through the night. What about wall power? do the venues you playing have good setups?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.349 seconds with 22 queries.