ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Needing help finding proper woofers for cab  (Read 11188 times)

chris fletchall

Needing help finding proper woofers for cab
« on: January 01, 2011, 11:39:02 PM »

Im in the process of rebuilding 8 Peavey HDH-3 dual 18" subs.

The Black widows inside them are in desperate need of replacing.

Can any one point me in the right direction as to what would be a better speaker for this cabinet?

Or is it best to just buy new baskets for the Blackwidows?

I have no knowledge of speaker building or how to pair a woofer with a cabinet , so thanks to any one that can help educate me.

Ivan Beaver

Re: Needing help finding proper woofers for cab
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 08:43:30 AM »

chris fletchall wrote on Sat, 01 January 2011 23:39

Im in the process of rebuilding 8 Peavey HDH-3 dual 18" subs.

The Black widows inside them are in desperate need of replacing.

Can any one point me in the right direction as to what would be a better speaker for this cabinet?

Or is it best to just buy new baskets for the Blackwidows?

I have no knowledge of speaker building or how to pair a woofer with a cabinet , so thanks to any one that can help educate me.

The cheapest and easiest way would be to get replacement baskets for your current drivers.

You say they need replacing.  What does that mean?  They are not working?  The cones are torn?  You are not happy with the performance?

More information would help.

Before you could even consider getting a different driver, you would first have to provide all the measurements of the inside of the cabinet (port dia/length etc) so somebody could model it for you.

Then you would have to provide more information about what you are wanting out of the cabinets performance wise.