ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Multipin for cat-5  (Read 8578 times)

Craig Hauber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
    • http://www.csaproductionsinc.com
Multipin for cat-5
« on: December 07, 2010, 06:13:56 pm »

Need an easy disconnect for 14 cat-5 for an A/V equiped lectern.
Is there a multipin cable rated for cat-5 type use?
(Most of the lines are for baluns but few are data)

Logged
Craig Hauber
CSA Productions Inc.
Ventura-Santa Barbara CA
www.csaproductionsinc.com

Phil LaDue

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2010, 07:06:39 pm »

(2) WireWorks MCat524 will handle 12 channels.
http://www.wireworks.com/MCat524

Rain Jaudon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 626
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2010, 12:31:47 pm »

http://www.wireworks.com/Images/WireworksProducts/Medium/MCat524RJ45Tail.gif
Logged
Endorsing Artist for CA Guitars - Lafayette, LA
http://www.CAguitars.com

Multitude Audio
Subcontracting under Magnolia Music Center
Audio Visual Installation and Service
Gulfport, Ocean Springs and Pascagula, MS

Silas Pradetto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3047
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2010, 12:42:35 pm »

Craig Hauber wrote on Tue, 07 December 2010 18:13

Need an easy disconnect for 14 cat-5 for an A/V equiped lectern.
Is there a multipin cable rated for cat-5 type use?
(Most of the lines are for baluns but few are data)




14 Cat5? Let me guess, is this for NASA?
Logged

Rob Timmerman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2025
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2010, 06:11:06 pm »

Any chance you can combine the data lines via a local switch?
Logged

Craig Hauber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
    • http://www.csaproductionsinc.com
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2010, 02:00:38 pm »

8 lines are for HDMI baluns,
3 lines for rs-232 and I-R
1 line for building network connection
1 line for e-snake type networked audio
1 line for touch panel controller

I'm just following the blueprints but would have done things much differently myself.
(I could probably get the control lines down to one, would have used a local switcher so only one video output and then everything would fit on one of those wireworks connectors mentioned above.)

Thanks for the tips!
Logged
Craig Hauber
CSA Productions Inc.
Ventura-Santa Barbara CA
www.csaproductionsinc.com

Hayden J Nebus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2010, 03:05:27 pm »

W3 would do the trick. It's easy to fuck up, but with MASS conectors going more and more the way of the dodo, you should be able to pick some up reasonably

Logged
Hayden J. Nebus
Audio Engineer
Assistant Production Manager
SMG Richmond
Richmond Centerstage and the Landmark Theater

A Thomas Lamb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 418
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2011, 03:01:46 pm »

I've seen link USA use VEAM connectors to do this. I don't know that it's rated for that but they say they do it with there catv /aes snakes all the time.
Logged
Thomas Lamb
A1 Orlando Production

Craig Hauber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
    • http://www.csaproductionsinc.com
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2011, 08:16:54 pm »

I thought there was more magic involved with cat5/6/7 connections?
I know when done properly there is less than 5/8 of untwisted pairs between in and out with the modular style connections.  I don't see how this is possible with circular multipins?  Likewise the physical spacing between the pairs is much wider and not in a linear fashion like the modular connectors.  All the category spec's have been designed and based around the 8p8c connector -how will deviating from that effect the transmission?  I am curious how the wireworks connector fares -and how much deviation from spec is there and if there's enough headroom left for other deviations in the system such as excessive footage of stranded patchcords, 8p8c "barrel" type joiners and/or patchbays inline?  Nor have I ever seen soldered connectors in telecom but that would be a necessity with some of these connectors.

(It seems I have too many questions -and first time in my audio system design career I'm feeling way overwhelmed with our industry's shift to data technology!)
Logged
Craig Hauber
CSA Productions Inc.
Ventura-Santa Barbara CA
www.csaproductionsinc.com

Jason Lavoie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
Re: Multipin for cat-5
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2011, 11:37:52 pm »

Craig Hauber wrote on Thu, 06 January 2011 20:16

I thought there was more magic involved with cat5/6/7 connections?
I know when done properly there is less than 5/8 of untwisted pairs between in and out with the modular style connections.  I don't see how this is possible with circular multipins?  Likewise the physical spacing between the pairs is much wider and not in a linear fashion like the modular connectors.  All the category spec's have been designed and based around the 8p8c connector -how will deviating from that effect the transmission?  I am curious how the wireworks connector fares -and how much deviation from spec is there and if there's enough headroom left for other deviations in the system such as excessive footage of stranded patchcords, 8p8c "barrel" type joiners and/or patchbays inline?  Nor have I ever seen soldered connectors in telecom but that would be a necessity with some of these connectors.

(It seems I have too many questions -and first time in my audio system design career I'm feeling way overwhelmed with our industry's shift to data technology!)


yup, very few (if any) non RJ45 connectors will meet CAT5 specs, but since a lot of what AV uses CAT5 for isn't as picky, other connectors will work.
if you're not running ethernet over the cables, chances are pretty good that you'll be ok.

Jason
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.022 seconds with 14 queries.